INVESTMENT COMMITTEE

Thursday, 6 May 2021

Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Investment Committee held on Thursday, 6
May 2021 at 3.45 pm

Present

Members:

Deputy Tom Sleigh (Chair) Deputy Andrien Meyers

Nicholas Bensted-Smith (Deputy Dhruv Patel Chairman) John Petrie

Simon Duckworth Deputy Henry Pollard Anne Fairweather James de Sausmarez

Alderman Alison Gowman Ian Seaton

Alderman Prem Goyal Sheriff Christopher Hayward (Ex-Officio

Alderman Robert Howard Member)

Michael Hudson Jeremy Mayhew (Ex-Officio Member)
Shravan Joshi Deputy Jamie Ingham Clark (Ex-Officio

Deputy Robert Merrett Member)

Also in attendance:

Deputy Tom Hoffman

Officers:

Nicholas Gill - City Surveyor's Department - Town Clerk's Department Lorraine Brook - Town Clerk's Department John Cater **Emily Garland** Town Clerk's Department Julie Mayer - Town Clerk's Department **Gregory Moore** - Town Clerk's Department - Town Clerk's Department Angela Roach James Gibson Chamberlain's Department

At the start of the meeting, Alderman Alison Gowman, as senior Alderman present, was moved into the Chair until the Election of Chair/Chairman. Members and those watching the live broadcast of the meeting via YouTube were welcomed, before Members were reminded of the guidance circulated for the conducting of remote meetings.

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Henry Colthurst, Alderman Robert Hughes-Penney and Deputy Catherine McGuinness.

2. MEMBERS' DECLARATIONS UNDER THE CODE OF CONDUCT IN RESPECT OF ITEMS ON THE AGENDA

There were no declarations.

3. ORDER OF THE COURT OF COMMON COUNCIL

The Committee received an Order of the Court of Common Council of 15 April 2021 appointing the Committee and approving its Terms of Reference.

4. APPOINTMENT OF THE BOARDS AND FREQUENCY OF MEETINGS

The Committee considered a report of the Town Clerk seeking Members' approval on the composition, frequency of meetings, and co-option protocol for the Committee's Boards.

The Town Clerk read a list of names who had indicated their wish to serve on the Financial Investment Board. As there were 14 Members indicating their willingness to serve for 12 to 14 places, it was: -

RESOLVED – That the following Members be appointed to the Financial Investment Board for the year ensuing:

Nick Bensted-Smith
Henry Colthurst
Anne Fairweather
Alderman Prem Goyal
Alderman Robert Howard
Alderman Robert Hughes-Penney
Deputy Jamie Ingham Clark
Deputy Robert Merrett
Andrien Meyers
John Petrie
Deputy Henry Pollard
James de Sausmarez
Ian Seaton
Deputy Philip Woodhouse

The Town Clerk read a list of names who had indicated their wish to serve on the Property Investment Board and, with 11 Members indicating their willingness for 12 to 14 places, it was: -

RESOLVED – That the following Members be appointed to the Property Investment Board for the year ensuing:

Simon Duckworth
Alderman Alison Gowman
Sheriff Christopher Hayward
Michael Hudson
Deputy Jamie Ingham Clark
Shravan Joshi
Deputy Robert Merrett
Andrien Meyers
Dhruv Patel
Deputy Tom Sleigh
Deputy Philip Woodhouse

Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman to the Financial Investment Board

The Town Clerk invited Members of the newly appointed Financial Investment Board to elect a Chairman in accordance with Standing Order 29. Expressions of interest were invited and Nick Bensted-Smith, being the only Member indicating his willingness to serve, was declared to have been elected for the year ensuing.

The Town Clerk invited Members of the newly appointed Financial Investment Board to elect a Deputy Chairman in accordance with Standing Order 30. Expressions of interest were invited and Henry Colthurst, being the only Member indicating his willingness to serve, was declared to have been elected for the year ensuing.

Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman to the Property Investment Board

The Town Clerk invited Members of the newly appointed Property Investment Board to elect a Chairman in accordance with Standing Order 29. Expressions of interest were invited and Andrien Meyers, being the only Member indicating his willingness to serve, was declared to have been elected for the year ensuing.

The Town Clerk invited Members of the newly appointed Property Investment Board to elect a Deputy Chairman in accordance with Standing Order 30. Expressions of interest were invited and Shravan Joshi, being the only Member indicating his willingness to serve, was declared to have been elected for the year ensuing.

RESOLVED - That the Investment Committee:

- a) Approve the appointment of the Financial and Property Investment Boards, and that the frequency of meetings, terms of reference and cooption protocol for the Committee's Boards be approved;
- b) Delegate authority to the Town Clerk, in consultation with the Chair and Deputy Chairman of Investment Committee, to appoint Members of the Investment Committee to the Boards where there is a vacancy and where a Member of Investment Committee expresses a willingness to serve; and
- c) Note that the Chair and Deputy Chairman of the Investment Committee are ex-officio Members of the following Committees:
 - Policy & Resources
 - Finance

5. ELECTION OF CHAIR/CHAIRMAN

The Committee proceeded to elect a Chair/Chairman in accordance with Standing Order No.29. Expressions of interest were invited and Deputy Tom Sleigh, being the only Member who expressed his willingness to serve, was duly elected as Chair of the Committee for the ensuing year.

6. **ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR/CHAIRMAN**

The Committee proceeded to elect a Deputy Chair/Chairman in accordance with Standing Order No.30. Expressions of interest were invited and Nick Bensted-Smith, being the only Member who expressed his willingness to serve, was duly elected as Deputy Chairman of the Committee for the ensuing year.

The Chair then thanked Members and officers for their attendance and contributions before closing the meeting.

The meeting ended at 3.59pm	
Ob air	
Chair	

Contact Officer: Joseph Anstee joseph.anstee@cityoflondon.gov.uk